Cool I'm a beginner with a bait caster.

What tips can you guys give me? Brakes are set on 7 as I try to get some good casts without back lashing in the yard. Also what are some good affordable reels? 100-150$ range.

2. Member
    Just keep practicing, Lew's reels seem to be pretty easy to adjust.

3. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    Be sure your weight is sufficient for your reel. Be sure your rod is light enough that you can load it up to get the weight to launch. Start with a side arm cast, and try short casts until you can back the brake off below 5, then work to get a longer distance. Practice, practice, practice.
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​

4. Banned
    Spool it up with some cheap mono line and get on the water. It won't be long before you get the hang of it. Throw something like a chatterbait or spinnerbait because they are easy to cast and won't tumble as much as a crankbait will at first.

I highly recommend the Daiwa Tatula SV TW for beginners. The SV system in this reel is very forgiving and allows you to focus more on technique and repetition with a much lower chance of backlash. The Tackle Trap is running a heck of a deal for BBC members on the reel, which now includes a redemption form for a great looking HUK Performance hooded shirt. Here is a link to the thread here on BBC about them. Feel free to PM me or call the shop for more information.

Daiwa Tatula HUK Performance Promo BBC Link

6. Member
    I would suggest keeping an eye on the "Reels for Sale" section of this site. You can find some very nice reels that guys are selling for $125-$150 with very little use on them. If you are absolutely wanting new, my personal preference is Shimano or Daiwa, and you should have a few options for each in your price range.