2002 Johnson J150PLSNF Carburetor rebuild? Fuel starvation?

Hello gents! Newbie here and needing some feedback to troubleshoot an older outboard before I invest $$$.

Symptoms/background:
    2002 Johnson J150PLSNF
    Carbs haven’t been cleaned/rebuild 5+ yrs
    Evidence of gas (not much) on the bottom (inside cowling) after storing for extended time
    Motor never fails to start but at times it would shut off at idle at the dock
    After stopping to fish, at times, takes a few tries to start. After starting, would have to put in gear and push on throttle to keep engine from dying (would be okay thereafter)
    I’ve noticed engine only runs around 5000rpm at WOT. At times, it would spike to 5500 which would run really well (significant MPH increase) and then at other times <5000rpm.
    Not sure if this is related, but the past few times, false alarm of “No Oil” comes on. This happens in the morning and would be fine for the duration of the trip.

Any insight is appreciated. I’m thinking of getting the carbs rebuild first, meaning I need 6 kits correct? Also thinking about getting new fuel lines.

Thanks!

2. Member
    Anyone???!

3. Member
    After the motor sets, try pumping the oil bulb to see if it is soft. Does the fuel primer bulb stay hard? Possible bad sender in the oil tank, unplug the wires from the oil tank and see if that stops the warning horn, OK to run motor with this unplugged. Is there a clear, or yellowing, plastic sleeve over a smaller black roller on the carb linkage arm that opens the carbs? Does the motor smoke a lot at idle speeds?

4. SC Club Moderator ChampioNman's Avatar
    Have a manual? If not get one. Perform the VRO tests. Check the throttle roller as Juggy suggests.