AVX1980CC - Motor Options

I know that this is always a loaded question, but I was hoping to pick some people's brains on rigging options. I went and looked at a 1980CC on Monday, and am ready to pull the trigger - just need to make up my mind on what I want to hang on the back of it LOL.

I have no brand loyalty. The dealer that had the demo boat sold Suzuki's and Yamaha's - he was really pushing the Suzuki's over the Yamaha's pretty hard. I have NEVER seen a Suzuki on the water in my neck of the woods but was intrigued. However, after doing some homework, it looks like the Suzuki 150 is 100 pounds heaver than the competitors. And the 140 is only 2.0L (vs 3.0L for the competitors).

The Yammy's are $2-4k more than the competition, but seem to get solid reviews. Evinrude is running a heck of a deal ($2k off and 7 year warranty). I have no experience with the newer Mercs, but they look good on paper.

Any real world advice on any of these motors? (especially on the 1980 CC) I have a decent amount of dealers around me, with Suzuki being the most sparse.

Any thoughts would be appreciated!

The Suzuki is a solid engine as well as the grey Yamaha outboards. I like the Evinrude Etec outboards myself. I believe they, as a company, have put a lot into the technology of their products from the block on up. With the deal they are promoting right now helps make that decision a little easier as the Evinrude can be a little higher than say the merc. I've been in a 1980 with the Merc 150 ProXS and its a smooth running, powerful engine that gets the 1980 on plane in an instant. What it really comes down to is price and what dealer will take care of you if something needs addressed. Todays engines are really well built and will last a very long time with proper maint.
    Joe Galada - Tamaqua, PA
    2004 Ranger 521VX - Yamaha 250 SHO

3. Member