Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

advice for dropshot rod?

I'm pretty new to custom rods. I've got a guy who has built a couple for me. He does great work and I've been happy with my first two.

I'm looking to have a dropshot rod built. This will be for casting and dragging - not vertical dropshotting.

I almost pulled the trigger on an NRX 822 ($415 shipped is the best price I could find). I have a few other NRX rods and love them. My 852s gets a lot of use.

I figured if I'm going to spend the money, why not go with a custom rod and have the exact length/feel I want.

All I know so far is that I want something between 7'0 - 7'3. Cork, split grip.

As far as budget goes - obviously I have to pay the guy to build it, and I don't know his prices on blanks/guides/etc. Let's ballpark and say under $350 for the components.

Can anyone help with some advice on blanks and guides? I've looked at blanks online until I'm blue in the face. I don't know much about guides. I just want to end up with a sensitive rod that will work best for casting & dragging a dropshot. I don't need this to be a multi-purpose rod or anything.

I was looking at the RainShadow Immortal IMMS72ML. Are any of the St Croix blanks significantly better?
    2023 Puma STS

2. Member
    I,m building 3 similar rods now. One for myself and my 2 sons. I chose the Rainshadow REVS610 MLXF. I'm impressed with the blank so far, very light at 1.5 Oz, and the action feels good. I'm sure the Immortal blank would be even better. Definitely go with Titanium guides, I like the Minima M Match and Minima SV for the reduction guides and for the running guides use Model F. Fuji has similar lines of Titanium guides and your builder can help you pick what he likes to work with. My costs ended up at a bit over $100 per rod, including reel seats and composite cork split grips. I'll post some pics when completed.
    A custom rod is all about what you like, so choose accordingly.

3. Member