Center console bass boats... like'em, hate'em, why??

Just curious to get a general consensus on other peoples experience, opinions, etc. regarding center console bass boats. I know a few manufacturers have made center console model boats, but they just never seemed to take off. Just curious if we could get to the bottom of why that likely is.
    - Heath

Loved my Allison center steer, always balanced.

They look and drive great, but not a good fishing platform.
    "Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt."

4. Member
    I have no experience with small center consoles like the rare skeeters. bullets, and gamblers. I owned an Allison xb2003 and loved the wind protection in cooler weather. I would expect the allison xb21 prosport would give similar or better protection. The 2003 is a narrower boat and is a little tippy compared to wide bodied boats, therefore moving to the front of the deck is more problematical than a traditional bass boat. When I replaced my 2003 with a newer XB21, I had a difficult time deciding on the prosport layout or a more traditional layout. I went with the more traditional layout, mainly because of rod storage. Its a tradeoff. If you are nimble, you should have no issues with the Allison layout. If you are heavy with poor balance, maybe not.

5. Member
    Gamblinman, first of all thanks for contributing. Would you mind elaborating a little more regarding some of the cons of the center console as a bass fishing platform?
    - Heath

6. Member