Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

203/Puma Hybrid: Testing/Review

Disclaimer: I’m not a boat salesman, dealer or have any affiliation with BassCat Boats other than being a new customer and a fan of the new Hybrid hull. I have no dog in this fight and profit exactly ZERO. I’m not a journalist or English professor so bear with me. I’m not a professional boat driver or fisherman but know my way around both. I was fortunate enough to be raised in the bass boat business with my father, grandfather, 4 uncles and mother all working for ChampioN at one time or another from the start in 1975 until the mid 80’s when pops got out of the biz. I’m about a hardcore ChampioN fan as they come and vowed to own only ChampioNs over the years. Time changes and ChampioN is no longer, sad day when they shut the door for the last time. Well folks, a new door has opened and I’ll try to do my best to tell you what I know.

In 2011-12 ish we saw the demise of ChampioN through the bankruptcy in Tennessee, new purchase with P&E, moving them and Stratos to Flippin, rebadging of the ChampioN hulls as Stratos, the outrage and rejection from the ChampioN faithful and the eventual killing of the brand by P&E. The final nail in the coffin is when White River bought them out and kept Ranger and Triton but killed off Stratos as well, but still own ChampioN and Stratos in name. Then, did the same to Legend. Shame all three made a nice rig.