Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

What happens when you get your rod wet?

I don’t think it is good for a rod and I know that some people dip their rods so I wanted to know from
    them if it decreases the longevity of the rod? Paul Elias used to do it a lot but he had sponsors that could easily replace a rod or put an extra coat on it.

2. Member
    It usually makes it easier to slip in.

Do you have any rigs with braided line? If so, your rod gets wet. I have one that I have been running braid on for 25 years. Still functions like it did the day I got it. Thousands of fish caught on it. In short, no issues what so ever.

3. Member
    Ever fished in the rain?

4. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by DL07 View Post
    Ever fished in the rain?
    I don’t submerge my rods no and if it’s a heavy downpour I usually let it pass ..

5. Ranger Boats Moderator jc2bg's Avatar
    Up here, in the spring, we may have 2 or 3 tournaments in a row in which it rains all day. Or I’m fishing on the main lake on Erie and taking water over the bow with every wave. I have 4 G Loomis rods that are 25+ years old and still going strong. I’d hate to guess how many times they’ve been soaked. The finish starts looking a little cloudy when these rods are totally soaked, but as soon as they dry out they look as good as new.
    John Clark — Findlay, Ohio

6. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jc2bg View Post
    Up here, in the spring, we may have 2 or 3 tournaments in a row in which it rains all day. Or I’m fishing on the main lake on Erie and taking water over the bow with every wave. I have 4 G Loomis rods that are 25+ years old and still going strong. I’d hate to guess how many times they’ve been soaked. The finish starts looking a little cloudy when these rods are totally soaked, but as soon as they dry out they look as good as new.
    Thnaks , that’s good to hear.
    We were shop talking and we inconclusive on if the moisture reduces the life of the rod.