03 521 restore project

IMG_5453.JPGBought this from insurance salvage, boat was damaged by running into rocks on the Mississippi per previous owner.

Had to find trailer to get it home, found a 99 ranger trailer 4 hours north of me was in rough shape without fenders installed but everything was there
    IMG_5634.JPG

Last edited by ranger195; 09-23-2019 at 08:39 AM.

2. Member
    Im going to try and chronicle this because i know there are a lot of folks out there that wonder if they could do themselves and im one to tell you im no expert by any means. Im a carpenter by trade who has pretty good common sense and wiling to try most anything so i decided i was going to try it myself. I was about to buy a 65K boat and just couldn't bring myself to do it. Heck i paid that for my first house no boat was work that IMO. So i found by new project and hope to be all in for under 20 when done. Thats if i don't re-power with new motor. Plan is to re-do all plumbing, remote drain plug, 52" ultrex, new electronics not sure on brand just yet, New talons, jack plate, not sure manual of hydro yet, make new dash panel for old switch side, i dont like the push button controls. Rewire completely right now that may change. Of course fix all the gouges, scratches and re gel these areas. Install recessed trolling tray. hoping to have a new 03 ranger when im done.

Its new home for the next 2 months

IMG_5636.JPG

Going to try and keep up with the process.
    Last edited by ranger195; 09-23-2019 at 08:40 AM.

Good luck. Would love to do that someday. Will be following.

4. Member
    That's gonna be a good one. I'm going to be at just under $10k with mine when I'm done but 9 of it is everything besides the hull and trailer. Look around on here, I've saved probably $4k off the retail of everything by buying slightly used or non current new stuff. Wholesale Marine is your friend too.

5. Member