Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

(4x) kid friendly bass boats

Hi everyone

Wanted to ask your opinion... Am not far from entering the market for a used bass boat, and am trying to settle on a style so I can narrow my search to a few models. Bear in mind my budget is not high (<$10K; thanks Toronto area mortgages!) so am not opposed to looking at older boats - nothing against an 80's era boat that safely and reliably gets me to my fishing spots. Sure as hell beats the canoe whose oars my buddy and I have been pulling for the past 13 years.

As I primarily go fishing with a buddy, and both his and my kids are close to being old enough to ride in a boat with us, my primary criteria are the following:
    - plenty of casting space, fore and aft
    - space for 2 adults and up to 4 kids

What bass boats meet this, or is there a way to set up "regular" bass boats to do this?
    I know about the ranger reata (which is awesome) but unlikely to find one on my budget. What other bass boats (make+model) could do this?
    Any input is appreciated! Thanks!
    Last edited by LuS; 08-18-2019 at 10:57 PM.

There are 6 of us and we fished from a 92 Ranger 392 for many many years with no problems. You aren't all going to be throwing topwater baits at the same time but you can make the fishing work for you. I suggest looking for a 391 or a 491. These will be a single console and provide even more room to move around and fish. I think a Stratos 201 from that era would fit the bill nicely too and fall within your price range.
    Joe Galada - Tamaqua, PA
    2004 Ranger 521VX - Yamaha 250 SHO

3. Member