Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Earnest Money on Home Purchase?

What's a fair earnest amount on a home purchase? Thanks

Looks like we are going to have two offers. One with better terms except 500 earnest and a little less terms offer has 1000 earnest. Based on that is there a difference?
    Last edited by usabassin; 08-10-2019 at 07:29 PM.

2. Banned
    Edit, I was thinking option period money: my wifey said 1% is normal, but that it’s negotiable.

3. Member
    Depends on the price of the house. $150,000 house-$1000.00-$1500.00 $500,000 house-$15,000.00-$20,000.00

Rick

I'm a Broker in Central Florida. Earnest deposits are always negotiable but, an offer for a median price home should be at least $1000 and preferably $2,000-$3000. On homes above $300K a $5,000 deposit is frequently made.
    Ray K.
    Mount Dora, FL

2012 Nitro Z7
    150 Merc Pro Xs
    Atlas Hydraulic JP
    Power Pole 10 ft Blades
    Minn Kota Ulterra 80 lb.
    Dual Consoles
    Lowrance HDS 8 & 5

[IMG][/IMG]

5. Member
    $500, you get it back so really what's the damn point?
    Ranger 205dvs 225opti

6. Member
    Not sure about the answer, but wouldn’t how long it is held have a factor. Holding a long time may cost a sell.
    Last edited by wildturkey; 08-10-2019 at 12:47 AM.
    Praying for a Cure

7. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by rickdb1 View Post
    Depends on the price of the house. $150,000 house-$1000.00-$1500.00 $500,000 house-$15,000.00-$20,000.00
    I’m in the mortgage biz and have never seen a $20K earnest deposit on a $500K house. 1% of the sales price is a good rule of thumb but as mentioned above it’s a negotiable fee.

8. Member
    Most houses we sale are in the 100-250k price range. 95%+ put up $500 for earnest money.

9. Member
    1 to 1.5% of asking price new construction custom builds 15 to 20% down.
    John the Garage Doorman

Quote Originally Posted by wildturkey View Post