Thread: Copolymer Line?

Copolymer Line?

Im new to the bigger swimbaits. I just purchased a Dobyns Fury FR 795SB. I will be throwing 168 swavers, hud 68 and 8" magdrafts with it to start.

My question is.
    Would I be better starting with a Copolymer Line? Since it seems to be a good compromise between floro and mono.

Thanx for any input.

2. Better Lucky Than Good! Casslaw's Avatar
    I fish a little smaller swimbait on CXX and I do like it. It does break if it gets kinked or the knot isn’t moistened correctly so I make sure to take my time but I like the line a lot. I throw braid mostly so I have to be careful not to treat everything like braid!

12 or 14lb CXX for me when throwing a swim jig or swimbait.
    2006 Triton SP-185, 2006 Evinrude Etec 90, PowerTech NRS3, Garmin Echomap Plus 73CV & 93SV

3. Member
    I do braid to leader and have been happy with it.

4. Member
    20lb CXX

5. Scraps
    I don't know, but I've sort of been worried ab out heaving those big baits all day on FC which, stretches, stretches, breaks. As opposed to mono which stretches and returns to original length. I was a long-time Yo-Zuri hybrid user and have used McCoy and Gamma copoly and really like those too. Izorline also.
    2017 Phoenix 819
    2016 200ProXS, s/n 2B359849, Mod 1200P73BD

6. Member
    I use Silver Thread AN40 copolymer in 25 lb test for most of my big swimbaits. Zero issues but getting very hard to find.

7. Member
    I fish a lot of the PLine FlouroClear. 15 and 20. I've had nothing but good luck with it and it's inexpensive.
    2017 Phoenix 618Pro

8. Member
    Braid to mono leader, never treat me bad on s-waivers and the like.

9. Member