Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member Ranchhand02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Western Oklahoma
    Posts
    905

    Nitro 929 CDX Review

    I have found a 2001 Nitro 929 CDX with a 200 mercury for sale that I am interested in buying. I am looking for a review or an opinion on this boat. Would you recomend this boat or not? What are your thoughts? The price is around 11,500. It does need carpet, but the hull is in good shape. It looks used but not abused. Let me know what you think of this boat.

  2.  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    79
    #2
    When I was looking to buy, I found one of those, I got some good feed back on them and then some not so good. I ended up with a Ranger (which I love), but what I can tell you is that what I have found as far as price, I have seen them listed for anywhere from 9000-13000. Some pics would be good, also what type of electronics are on it. What kind and how old is the TM? From what I was looking at, the fishing platform is really nice and roomy as well as the storage. How many hours on the motor? Get the motor checked out. I ended up taking a chance and seem to have gotten lucky. I do not recommend going that route. (not having it checked out) If nothing else get a compression gauge and make sure it is good. If everything is in working order make an offer and go from there. Bottom line, make sure it has everything you are looking for in a bass rig. Hope this helps a little.

  4. Member Ranchhand02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Western Oklahoma
    Posts
    905
    #3
    Thanks for the help. It is at my local dealer and they have done all the sevice on it. It has a 75 pound motor guide tour trolling motor on it. It does have a humminbird side imaging unit on it. I am concerned about it being underpowered with the 200 on it. Another guy in my bass club as a simular boat with a 225 on it and he is only getting around 61 MPH with two guys and a tournemnt load. I really do not want to replace the carpet in it. I am leaning toward saving my money and getting exactly what I want and not settling for a boat that will turn into a project.

  5. Member mpino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    737
    #4
    a 200 hp motor on a 929 will be a dog, 225 barely cuts it, don't bother unless you plan on swapping motors in the near future cause your not gonna get much performance from the 200 on a big boat like that, the 200 is just barely enough for a 901, just my personal opinion, your gonna have issues trying to plane out and you be lucky if you get that boat in the high 50's or low 60's

  6. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dover, Ohio
    Posts
    1,898
    #5
    The 200 will be underpowered. I have a 2006 929 CDX DC with a 225 Pro-XS and I run right around 68 MPH with a tourney load, two guys and 1/2 to 3/4 of a tank of fuel. My holeshot is good....not great but it works for me. Fill both livewells and it obviously gets worse. The platform itself is awesome. It's very stable and handles rough water just fine. Storage is abundant.

    Don't settle...if you have something in mind that you really want, you should keep saving until you can afford it. Project boats can wind up costing you as much as you'd spend on what you REALLY Want.

    Good luck!!!



    2006 Nitro 929 CDX DC
    2006 Mercury 225 Pro-Xs

  7. Member Ranchhand02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Western Oklahoma
    Posts
    905
    #6
    Thanks for the input. I figured it would be underpowered. I think I will just save my money and wait. Everyone I have talked to said they thought it would be underpowered. I really do not want to buy a boat knowing it will be a proect either.

  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    orange texas
    Posts
    143
    #7
    ive got an 04 929 with a 200 on it and im getting in the mid 50's. have no problem with hoel shot. but im also not one to need the ability or want to for that matter do 65 plus on the water. great fishing platform and tons of storage space

  9. Member Ranchhand02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Western Oklahoma
    Posts
    905
    #8
    I agree it looks like a great platform and it does have a ton of storage. It is a nice boat, but I think I am going to hang on to my money and see if I can find one with a little more motor on it.

  10. Member Nitro 929's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tucson, az
    Posts
    688
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Ranchhand02 View Post
    I agree it looks like a great platform and it does have a ton of storage. It is a nice boat, but I think I am going to hang on to my money and see if I can find one with a little more motor on it.
    +1 If i ever repower mine, it will be with a 250
    2003 Nitro 929 / 225 EFI
    Del Norte Bass Anglers

  11. Member Ranchhand02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Western Oklahoma
    Posts
    905
    #10
    I went and looked at the boat again yesterday. It was raining the first day I went and looked at. The top coat was faded and there were a lot more scratches and dings in the hull that I could see when it was dry. I will keep on looking and try and find one in better shape.

  12. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    877
    #11
    depends on your speed requirements.......if speed is not your thing then you can prop a 200 to jump that boat on plane......you will likely not have much top speed and will have to be careful to stay off the limiter.....

  13. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Posts
    281
    #12
    double check the trailer for rust on the cross members,, many of these rusted from the inside out

  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    orange texas
    Posts
    143
    #13
    love my boat but just found the dreaded rust blow out that everyone talks about with these boats.

  15. Member Ranchhand02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Western Oklahoma
    Posts
    905
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonmcfatter View Post
    love my boat but just found the dreaded rust blow out that everyone talks about with these boats.

    That sucks

  16. Nitro Boats Moderator BMCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Katy, Texas
    Posts
    8,129
    #15
    Happened on all tube steel trailers back in the days.
    Bryan McDonough
    2014 Nitro Z9 Mercury 250 Pro XS
    Nitro State Team