Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Indiana Bass Club Moderator sc419795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Schererville, Indiana
    Posts
    4,348

    What is the prox?

    Played with a group today and had a 7 point game going with prox being one of the points. P5 hole and me and another guy is on in 2. He is inside of me however my lag putt was inside of him. Who gets the prox on it? I am thinking for a P5 - whoever is closer on their 3rd shot gets the prox.

    Now - it was only $0.50/point so no biggie. Just curious what your thoughts are. Added: just to clarify - when we play prox, it's closest to the pin, on the green, in regulation.
    Last edited by sc419795; 11-18-2012 at 10:43 AM.
    Steve
    1993 Stratos 264/1992 Evinrude 90 HP
    Model E90TLEND/Serial G03150890

  2.  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    806
    #2
    Hang in there with me, this makes more sense in my head than I will be able to type it out. lol

    I say he gets it. We've always played that Proxy goes to whoever hits the closest to the pin within the GIR rules OR whoever hits the green first (least amount of strokes) within the rules of obtaining a GIR. The arguement started in my group when I drove a par 4 and hit my putt to about 2 ft. Another guy in the group hit just short of the green and chipped to 6". His was closer within the GIR rules but since I hit the green 1 shot before him, I automatically win. In your instance, both of you on the green in 2, his ball is closer therefore he wins the proxy.

  4. Indiana Bass Club Moderator sc419795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Schererville, Indiana
    Posts
    4,348
    #3
    Your argument was the same as my brothers. I see your point. It's not like this happens often where 2 people get on a P5 in 2. We were smoking them anyways in the points game and I pretty much let it go. It is an interesting debate though.

    BTW - shot my best round in years. 37+40=77. Even with that, had 3-4 strokes get away from me. What's sad is the days are getting shorter and the temps are getting colder. Not sure how much more golf we will be able to play up here.
    Steve
    1993 Stratos 264/1992 Evinrude 90 HP
    Model E90TLEND/Serial G03150890

  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    806
    #4
    Awesome on your round! Sounds like me. Play the best right when its time to hang them up for the year.

    Couple similiar things we've had to ponder...
    short par 4 and you drive the green..Does that count as a fairway hit?
    On in 1 on a par 4 or on in 2 on a par five, your putt goes off the green, do you still get credit for a green hit in regulation?

  6. Indiana Bass Club Moderator sc419795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Schererville, Indiana
    Posts
    4,348
    #5
    I would say on your P4 question, yes, you would hit a fairway. That is the easier of the 2 questions. GIR in my mind would be if you are on the green and have 2 putts to make par. In both of your examples, you were off the green and needed an up/down to save par. In neither case would I say you hit GIR. Interesting questions though and I am sure others will be around to offer another/different opinion.
    Steve
    1993 Stratos 264/1992 Evinrude 90 HP
    Model E90TLEND/Serial G03150890

  7. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    panama city
    Posts
    1,514
    #6
    Stat keeping wise both examples are GIR. On in 1 on a par 4 is not a FIR, however it is not a missed FIR either, it is scored like a par 3. On in 2 on a par 5 is a GIR. Putting it off the green and then making par is an up/down, scored with 2 putts(assuming you don't chip in for par).

    I have seen the on in 2 on a par 5 and the guy have a difficult down hill putt, and knock it off the green. Then miss hit the chip and leave it short. hit the 2nd chip to 6 ft and miss the putt to make 6. Stat record on that hole 1 FIR, 1 GIR, 3 putt, 0/1 up and down. And lost $$$ to boot.